Thermopolis Independent Record - Your source for news in Hot Springs County

By Cindy Glasson
Reporter Photographer 

FFA members shine at state


April 18, 2019

Hot Springs County High School FFA members stop for a group photo at state.

Hot Springs County High School and Thermopolis Middle School Chapters of FFA attended their State FFA Convention last weekend in Laramie and Cheyenne, garnering several champions.

State Degrees were awarded to Dusty Barnes, Colton Dobbins, Kiara Warman and Barb Kissel. Kissel was also recognized as Regional Star Ag Business.

Two members received bronze Proficiency Awards; Logan Shumway in Outdoor Recreation and Chase White in Equine Science Placement.

Several members competed in the Agri Science Fair portion of the convention with Eli Dickey being named Champion in Animal Systems, Div. 3, Rebekah Johnson placed third in Animal Systems, Div. 3, Audrey Axtell was named Reserve Champion in Animal Div. five and Hunter Bartholomew was named Reserve Champion in Power Structural and Technical Systems.

The six members of the Quizbowl team brought home a fourth place. They include Jim Christensen, Jason Bowman, Will Clark, Garrett Titmus, Rebekah Johnson and Autumn Brawley.

After a lot of hard work, Ally Taylor placed third in the Creed contest. Kiara Warman also did Extemporaneous.

Jeffery VanAntwerp, Chase White, Remington Ferree, Riley Shaffer, Audrey Axtell, Rebekah Johnson and Emme Norsworthy wrote an original short play that garnered them a fourth place in Ag Issues.

VanAntwerp also placed fifth in the Job Interview competition.

The Livestock Judging team did well, placing 10th overall with a fourth in Female Selection, sixth in Sheep and fifth in Swine. The team includes Hallie Martinez, Cadence Steadman, Eli McCumber and Barb Kissel.

The team is also a fourth place finisher in Leadership Sweepstakes, received their 2-Star Status and had the winning state booth at the competition. That means the booth will be displayed the National Convention this fall.

The middle school team did well too, with a number of Champions and Reserve Champions named in various categories.

The middle school poultry judging team won first place. Dazlynn Hunt and Porter McCumber tied for second overall and Chase Herring placed third overall in individual poultry judging.

The middle school horse team, comprised of Morgan Slover, Lexi Overfield, Amelia Roberts and Kianna Mailoux placed eighth with Robert placing 10th overall as an individual.

In Agri Science, Elizabeth Peterson was named Champion in Plant Science Div. 1.

Simon Ream is the Champion in ENR Div. 1 while the team of Will Coale and Hadley Johnson were named Grand Champion Team in ENR Div. 2.

Chase Herring received Reserve Champion in Animal Systems Div. 1, Brianna Lackey was named Reserve Champion in Social Sciences Div. 1, and Ayden Brawley placed third in Social Sciences Div. 1.

Luke Arcand was named the Reserve Champion for Power, Structural and Technical Systems Div. 1, and the team of Adriana Rivera and Kaitlin Barral were named Reserve Champions in Food Science Div. 2.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2020