Thermopolis Independent Record - Your source for news in Hot Springs County

By Cindy Glasson
Reporter Photographer 

Ciz named Teacher of the Year


April 11, 2019

Cindy Glasson

Nichole Ciz was named Hot Springs County School District's Teacher of the Year on Tuesday.

Hot Springs County School District #1 celebrated both parents and staff during a special assembly on Tuesday afternoon in the auditorium.

Power Parent Awards were given to TJ Owsley, Amber Cox and Jennifer Duncan for going above and beyond as parents with children in the school system. The trio is always willing to help with everything from lending a hand in the classroom to volunteering for field trips.

The district also honored the three retirees from the district this year, Dorothy Rhodes, Liz Ryan and Jim Lash.

A new award was started this year at the behest of the teachers – Bobcat Super Substitute. The first to win the award was Jena DeVries.

Cool Cat Awards were given to staff that have done an exemplary job this year. The four recipients were Laura Stam, Susan Little, Sandy Richins and Nicole Reid.

Throughout the school year, teachers were nominated at Bobcat Champions for Children – Nichole Ciz, Brandon Deromedi, Stephanie Boren and Drew Brown. The four champions were in the running for the Teacher of the Year Award.

Teacher of the Year for 2019 went to Nichole Ciz, a teacher in the kinder-boost program. Ciz has also taught kindergarten and first grade during her time in the district.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2020

Rendered 11/19/2020 05:20