Thermopolis Independent Record - Your source for news in Hot Springs County

Wiley named Coach of the Year


Lyle Wiley

Hot Springs County High School's Lyle Wiley was recently chosen as Coach of the Year for 1A2A by the Wyoming Speech and Debate Community.

"Humbled. Grateful. Never going to stop working for my HSCHS students and our Wyoming students," Wiley said. "I could not do what I do at HSCHS without coach Cindy Glasson, the support from our administration, Breez Daniels, Dustin Hunt and Brandon Deromedi, the help and kindness of our coaching community, the willingness and sacrifice of my darling wife and daughter, and the energy, life, and talent of our competitors.

Wiley was chosen by the other coaches through the state for not only his talent in teaching exceptional debaters, extemporaneous speakers and congress students, but for being willing to take on any challenge that comes his way.

"Our HSCHS Speech and Debate Team just absolutely killed it this year," he said. "Our students worked so hard, and frankly, they made us coaches look good.

"I think we are blessed to have the opportunity to work with such talented and driven students. I also think that coach Glasson and I are blessed to work together. We compliment each other's strengths so much, and it gives our students maximized opportunities.

Wiley added the season ended with a dark cloud.

"We don't want to minimize the suffering that has happened all over the world, and COVID-19 is changing our world in a number of significant ways. At the same time, it has been difficult to see our hard working students lose their opportunity to compete in culminating events."

While there is still an open window and possibility for a remote State Tournament, missing out on State and National Qualifying Tournaments was a blow for the team that has performed at an elite level all season.

"Whatever happens, we are so proud of our Bobcats, and they are all champions to us," Wiley said.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021