Your source for news in Hot Springs County

Bobcats fall to Buffalo

The Bobcats fought a tough battle against the defending state champs Friday night in the 2A Wyoming High School State Football Semifinals, but in the end, Buffalo proved too strong. Bobcats ended their season defeating five different 2A opponents.

Friday night's game included touchdowns by Duder Harvey, Jase Longwell, and Logan Cole. "It was Coles' team leading 13th touchdown on the season," said coach Matt McPhie.

Harvey threw for 177 yards Friday vs the Bison. Cole grabbed five receptions for 45 yards and Cade McLean had two catches for 51 yards.

Defensively, the team struggled to contain arguably the best back in the state. Buffalo's Rowen Ruby had 150 yards rushing on the night. It wasn't just Ruby who did damage, nine of 11 Buffalo passes were completed for 204 yards and two touchdowns. Dawson Hatch also added 85 yards rushing.

For the Bobcat defense, Jaxson Jensen had an interception while Jarron Mortimore and Logan Shumway played well at the defensive end spots. All of the boys played tough football and flew around.

Duder Harvey finished the year with 10 rushing touchdowns. Harvey also had 16 passing touchdowns on the season. Harvey finished the season No. 2 in the state in all purpose yards.

The team finished the season with four different players rushing for over 400 yards, Logan Cole, Jase Longwell and Roedy Farrell. Cole and Longwell had seven rushing touchdowns, and Farrell added six.

Defensively this season, the team was led by Riley Shaffer in defensive points. Shaffer led the team with 116. Jarron Mortimore was second on the team with 98 points. Blake Williams and Logan Cole had  93 and 92 points respectively. Remington Ferree led the team on the season with three sacks. Blake Williams led the team with four interceptions. Cade McLean had three interceptions on the year. Duder Harvey led the state in punting average.

Coach McPhie had this to say about the season "It's a bitter ending to an excellent season. We are very proud of not only the excellent team these guys became, but the young men and citizens they have become off the field.  We will miss and always remember the dedication and commitment from our 11 seniors, Jarron Mortimore, Duder Harvey, Oran Coyne, Riley Shaffer, Logan Shumway, Matthew Daniels, Jason Clouse, Spencer Axtell, Cade McLean, Blake Williams, and Jorge Aguirre. This is an incredible group. They will be missed, but they will not be forgotten as they have left an indelible legacy."   


Reader Comments(0)