Thermopolis Independent Record - Your source for news in Hot Springs County

Current filings for town and county


Those interested in running for public office in Thermopolis and Hot Springs County have until Friday, June1 to toss their hat in the ring.

As of Friday, May 25, for county offices, Daniel Webber is running for County Assessor, Jerry Williams for County Attorney, Nina Webber for County Clerk, Terri Cornella for Clerk of District Court, Mark Mortimore as County Coroner, Julie Mortimore is running for County Treasurer and Ron Jurovich for Magistrate of Circuit Court.

Tom Ryan is the only person to sign on the dotted line to run for County Commissioner, however, there are two spots open.

As usual, we have a long list of candidates for County Sheriff, including Jerimie Kraushaar, Tom Christensen, Daniel Pebbles, Pat Cornwell and Michael Nelson.

Precincts committeemen and committeewomen are still needed across all precincts.

Precinct 1-1 needs one more candidate to join Cynthia Garbin, Jerry Williams and Nina Webber. Precinct 1-2 needs two more to join Joe Casciatoand P.E. Straley, and precinct 3-3 is looking for four more folks to go with Colleen Anderson and Jim Collins.

For Thermopolis Town Council, Joshua Brown and John Fish are running for the two open four-year terms. For the position of Mayor, Michael Chimenti, Forrest Coleman-Weisz and current mayor Mike Mortimore have put in their names.

In East Thermopolis, current mayor David D. Peake has submitted his name for Mayor, while current council members Dolores Bush and Sybil Hannah and newcomer Debra Lackey have put in their names for the two town council spots.

As for the Town of Kirby, Alberta Hurley has submitted her name for the council. Kirby has open three four-year terms on council and a four-year term as mayor.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2018