Thermopolis Independent Record - Your source for news in Hot Springs County

By Cindy Glasson
Reporter & Photographer 

Seventeen file for five hospital district seats


Seventeen candidates have tossed their hats in the ring to fill just five positions for the Hot Springs County Memorial Hospital District Directors, to be elected upon district formation approval in the general election .

Two positions are open to fill four-year terms.

Those candidates include Bill Williams, Dean Stone, Joseph Casciato, Bradyn Harvey, David Koerwitz, Josh Conrad, Allan Braaten and Jim Wilson.

Three positions are open for two-year terms.

Candidates listed for the November ballot for those positions are Benge Brown, Paul Gaovich, Dan Herdt, Harvey Seidel, Heath Overfield, Joshua Brown, Tom Olsen, Breez Longwell Daniels and Jean Skelton.

According to Hot Springs County Clerk Nina Webber, a late filing period for Hospital District Directors will be held from Sept. 30 to Oct. 11. However, anyone who files during the second filing period will not appear on the general election ballot and there will be no notice given to absentee voters about the candidacy for District Director since ballots must be printed prior to this late filing period.

Applications for election may be obtained at the Hot Springs County Clerk’s Office during normal business hours.

Also on the general election ballot in November will be the Specific Purpose Tax Imposition Ballot Initiative and the Formation of a Hospital District and Board of Directors Ballot Initiative.

A public meeting was held in June to allow residents to voice support and concerns regarding the two issues prior to the Hot Springs County Commissioners voting to add both to the ballot.

The general election will be held Tuesday, November 8.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019